Help! You can support us by writing a personal review. Go ahead and register then pick a product you know about and write something interesting. Others will read it and perhabst become interested!

Norton Antivirus

http://www.ereviewguide.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/260x200c/d5/a0/e2/651_norton-antivirus-1357444952.jpg
February 02, 2011    
 
3.1 (6)
Add Media
Write Review

Software Summary

Software Company
Operating System
Windows

Norton Antivirus is an Antivirus Software for Windows created by Publisher Symantec Corporation.

Product summary of Norton Antivirus

Norton AntiVirus is an antivirus program developed by Symantec Corporation. This program is compatible with Windows XP and Vista, and is designed to provide protection from malware and to prevent software exploits at the point-of-entry. Norton AntiVirus can be purchased as a standalone product or can be bought as part of Norton SystemWorks and Norton Internet Security. These two products provide users with more extensive protection for their computers, which includes monitoring for adware, spyware, and other security risks.

Symantec has done a great job when it comes to improving the Norton AntiVirus. In the Norton AntiVirus 2009 version, the software is slimmed down and works faster. This product provides users with more than just traditional protection. There's also the insight feature, which determines which applications and files can be trusted and which need to be checked for malware and other security issues. This feature saves a lot of time because scanning doesn't need to be done as often when a file or application has already been deemed as a trusted one.  

Features of Norton Antivirus

Norton AntiVirus has many tools that enhance protection for computers. This software watches for suspicious activity and automatically checks downloaded files to determine if they contain viruses. Norton AntiVirus is also configured to scan emails coming into the user's computer, as well as those that the user intends to send. Through the process, viruses are stopped from infecting the user's computer or from spreading to others. Once Norton AntiVirus detects viruses, these are completely removed from the system without interrupting the user. This software can even prevent infections while the user is engaging in online chats. Attachments that come through instant messages are also checked for viruses. Due to the proliferation of viruses and Internet worms that are spread through email and instant messaging programs, having Norton AntiVirus and its tools is really necessary and valuable.

Installation of Norton Antivirus

Installing and setting up Norton AntiVirus is simple. Users just have to put the CD in the CD drive, and the installer will automatically launch itself. The installer will then ask the user if a pre-install scan of the computer should be done. It's advisable to do a pre-install scan. Once the scan is finished, the installation will go on and users can just accept the defaults set. When the installation is finished, the user will have to go online and acquire up-to-date virus definitions. The Norton Antivirus application is also available as downloadable software where no cd is necessary.

Norton Antivirus Software Review

Once Norton AntiVirus is installed, it will pretty much take care of itself. Users don't have to worry about configurations and settings anymore once the product is already installed. Notifications will be sent to the user in case there's something that needs to be done. If a file with a virus cannot be repaired, the software will place it in a quarantine zone and will let the user know. Aside from that, Norton AntiVirus also tries to spot new worms and viruses by checking out their behavior. All in all, this program is one software that every computer owner should definitely get.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.1
Effectiveness 
 
3.3  (6)
Features 
 
3.2  (6)
Support 
 
2.8  (6)
Usability 
 
2.8  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Have used norton antivirus all my computer life. Nothing to crank down on. Gooood!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Support 
 
4.0
Usability 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Alkster March 30, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Good points

Have used norton antivirus all my computer life. Nothing to crank down on. Gooood!

Was this review helpful to you? 
For years, we used Norton exclusively on our computers for antivirus. We became acquainted with Norton through Norton Commander, a file access program that is no longer part of their offerings. For a long time, NAV was the best, and the only one we used or recommended. However, at some point we began to notice that things were slowing down. The slowing was most prominent during updates to the Norton software.

We were not happy to find that, when we were ready to switch, Norton made it difficult to remove their software from our system. We have friends who had similar issues with uninstalling, to the point they had to call in a computer technician to remove it in order to still be able to access the internet.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
4.0
Reviewed by di April 20, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Norton used to excel...

For years, we used Norton exclusively on our computers for antivirus. We became acquainted with Norton through Norton Commander, a file access program that is no longer part of their offerings. For a long time, NAV was the best, and the only one we used or recommended. However, at some point we began to notice that things were slowing down. The slowing was most prominent during updates to the Norton software.

We were not happy to find that, when we were ready to switch, Norton made it difficult to remove their software from our system. We have friends who had similar issues with uninstalling, to the point they had to call in a computer technician to remove it in order to still be able to access the internet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
If you get a new computer and go to set it up, the first thing you should do is get rid of Norton if it's pre-installed. I had heard such good things about this that I was excited to find a trial on the laptop I bought. I didn't even make it through the 30-day trial period, however, as it's just too painful to use.

Painful due to the slow crawl with which it scans and painful when it doesn't let you do anything else while it's running. I'm talking on a brand new machine, with 4 gb of ram - this laptop zings right along. There are other anti-virus programs that work just as well if not better without being so slow. It's just not worth the headaches.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
2.0
Reviewed by jjfreeman November 25, 2011
Last updated: November 25, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Don't bother

If you get a new computer and go to set it up, the first thing you should do is get rid of Norton if it's pre-installed. I had heard such good things about this that I was excited to find a trial on the laptop I bought. I didn't even make it through the 30-day trial period, however, as it's just too painful to use.

Painful due to the slow crawl with which it scans and painful when it doesn't let you do anything else while it's running. I'm talking on a brand new machine, with 4 gb of ram - this laptop zings right along. There are other anti-virus programs that work just as well if not better without being so slow. It's just not worth the headaches.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have to say Norton Antivirus software is a good software on security. However, whenever I have to wait for computer virus scan with loud computer fan noice because of it, or I have to adjust complex setting everytime when I install a new small application software, I fell enough of it. As a normal computer user, I would rather not use this product.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Features 
 
3.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
3.0
Reviewed by zhouyu75 November 11, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

helpful with pain

I have to say Norton Antivirus software is a good software on security. However, whenever I have to wait for computer virus scan with loud computer fan noice because of it, or I have to adjust complex setting everytime when I install a new small application software, I fell enough of it. As a normal computer user, I would rather not use this product.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Norton Anti-Virus was always the first thing I installed on any new system I got. For years it was my go to for anti-virus software. As time has passed however, it seems to be lacking in a lot of areas. The newer versions are not user friendly at all. For the longest time I could not figure out how to manually run a system scan. I knew they were scheduled to run, but beyond that I wasn't sure anything was being done.

When I started losing trust in my NAV I installed a couple other programs I found through some research. Upon their initial run, they found and quarantined numerous files. It left me completely unsatisfied with NAV. To the point of removing it from my computer, and throwing it away. For the price you pay for the software, it should be a top-notch trustworthy protector. Unfortunately, it's just not anymore.
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Features 
 
2.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
3.0
Reviewed by KelC23 May 23, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Out with the old....

Norton Anti-Virus was always the first thing I installed on any new system I got. For years it was my go to for anti-virus software. As time has passed however, it seems to be lacking in a lot of areas. The newer versions are not user friendly at all. For the longest time I could not figure out how to manually run a system scan. I knew they were scheduled to run, but beyond that I wasn't sure anything was being done.

When I started losing trust in my NAV I installed a couple other programs I found through some research. Upon their initial run, they found and quarantined numerous files. It left me completely unsatisfied with NAV. To the point of removing it from my computer, and throwing it away. For the price you pay for the software, it should be a top-notch trustworthy protector. Unfortunately, it's just not anymore.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Norton Antivirus really stinks. I hate that it comes standard on so many computers. I tried it the first time not knowing what I was getting myself into. Every time it was running a scan it totally bogged down my computer so that I could not even use it at all. The scans were slow and even a quick scan took hours. I work online so this was horrible for me.

I would not recommend anyone use this processor hog as it does not even keep your computer secure. I had quite a few viruses make it through using Norton that were found by another antivirus scan right away. It is ridiculous and out of date. I would definitely not pay for this software or advise anyone else to do so.
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Effectiveness 
 
2.0
Features 
 
2.0
Support 
 
1.0
Usability 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Casey James June 02, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Norton Antivirus is awful!

Norton Antivirus really stinks. I hate that it comes standard on so many computers. I tried it the first time not knowing what I was getting myself into. Every time it was running a scan it totally bogged down my computer so that I could not even use it at all. The scans were slow and even a quick scan took hours. I work online so this was horrible for me.

I would not recommend anyone use this processor hog as it does not even keep your computer secure. I had quite a few viruses make it through using Norton that were found by another antivirus scan right away. It is ridiculous and out of date. I would definitely not pay for this software or advise anyone else to do so.

Was this review helpful to you?