Help! You can support us by writing a personal review. Go ahead and register then pick a product you know about and write something interesting. Others will read it and perhabst become interested!

Mozilla Firefox

http://www.ereviewguide.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/260x200c/3a/3c/b1/645_mozillafirefox_1296330092.jpg
January 29, 2011    
 
4.6 (11)
Add Media
Write Review

Software Summary

Software Company
Operating System
  • Mac
  • Linux
  • Windows XP
  • Windows Vista
  • Windows 7
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 2003

Mozilla Firefox is a Web Browser Software for Windows, Mac OS X, Linux and is created by the Mozilla Foundation under Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike License v3.0

Mozilla Firefox: Everyone's Favorite Open Source Browser

Free and open source are two web browser descriptions that appeal to most users. Both of these descriptions show that there is no need to shell out money to avail of the use of a good browser.  Mozilla Firefox has proven this by being the second most widely-used web browser out there.  30% of Internet users make use of the Firefox. This is a great deal because there was a time when Internet Explorer dominated at 95% usage.  Firefox also manages to rank high in European countries, such as Germany and Poland. It has about 60% in Germany and 47% usage in Poland.

Mozilla Firefox Summary

The Mozilla Firefox web browser makes use of the Gecko layout engine.  The particular search engine implements most of the common web features that a user expects. However, Mozilla Firefox is crafted further to feature other capabilities that should draw more users in. The Firefox started out as an experimental branch under the Mozilla project. The Mozilla developers believe that it is better to replace the Mozilla suite with a standalone such as the Firefox. They are justified with their actions as the Firefox gains popularity. The web browser makes use of the usual browser features that users have already come to expect. Newer features have also been integrated. Some of these features have been inspired by the designs and layouts of other browsers. An example of such a feature is tabbed browsing from Opera.

Mozilla Firefox Features

The latest features of the Mozilla Firefox include a download manager, incremental find, live bookmarking, location-aware browsing or geo-location, private browsing, spell checking and tabbed browsing.  There are also other functions from third party developers that can be easily installed into the Firefox interface. As user can see, many of the features can also be found in other browsers. These features include the download manager, live bookmarking, private browsing and tabbed browsing. Private browsing is a means to go through web pages without having to reveal the content to other users of the computer in use. Geo-location, which is based on a Google service, is used to detect the geographical location of the computer to present customized suggestions.

Mozilla Firefox User Interface

The Mozilla Firefox user interface can be spare if the user prefers it to be. It can consist only of the most basic parts, such as the content area, the address bar and basic icons such as home and refresh. The user can add other tools on the tool bar if he wants to. He may want to install widgets and other functions from third party developers. The icons of those widgets will be then located on the tool bar. The icon will link the user to the function or page it represents. The user may also add another tab by clicking one of the default icons, a folder with a green plus sign.

Mozilla Firefox Software Review

If the second place finish in the usage percentage be the judge, Mozilla Firefox had already proven itself to be a great web browser. It is capable of competing with top gun, Internet Explorer.  It seems that to be successful in web browser development, programmers need only go for something neat and easy to use. Of course, there is also the security and privacy department to consider. Fortunately enough, Mozilla excels in that department. It also offers convenience and smooth-sailing browsing experience.  The web browser has the added bonus of being open source software. Mozilla Firefox can play at the range of clean and spare to tool-filled. It is also not hogged by ads like Opera.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 11 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Effectiveness 
 
4.7  (11)
Features 
 
4.6  (11)
Support 
 
4.4  (11)
Usability 
 
4.6  (11)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Mozilla Firefox is a great free and open-source web browser. In my opinion it is extremely user friendly and compared with Internet Explorer also a lot faster.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by sreekumar April 11, 2015
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Mozilla Firefox - A Superb Web Browser

Mozilla Firefox is a great free and open-source web browser. In my opinion it is extremely user friendly and compared with Internet Explorer also a lot faster.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I remember those days when I used to work on Internet Explorer and it used to hang or crash every now and then. Then one day I came across Mozilla Firefox and I never used Internet Explorer again. Firefox is a fast and fully customizable web browser. Over the years I have installed many add-ons that have helped quite a lot in reducing the time and effort taken to do various tasks. As it is supported by an open community, there are add-ons available for all kinds of tasks. You can also change the interface by using a theme of your choice. It’s very easy to import bookmarks and other stuff from you old browser if you have just installed firefox. I think it is not as fast as it used to be but the huge number of add-ons that I have installed might be a reason behind it. I can’t think of using any other web browser now so I will rate it 5/5.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by eric January 18, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Best web browser ever created!

I remember those days when I used to work on Internet Explorer and it used to hang or crash every now and then. Then one day I came across Mozilla Firefox and I never used Internet Explorer again. Firefox is a fast and fully customizable web browser. Over the years I have installed many add-ons that have helped quite a lot in reducing the time and effort taken to do various tasks. As it is supported by an open community, there are add-ons available for all kinds of tasks. You can also change the interface by using a theme of your choice. It’s very easy to import bookmarks and other stuff from you old browser if you have just installed firefox. I think it is not as fast as it used to be but the huge number of add-ons that I have installed might be a reason behind it. I can’t think of using any other web browser now so I will rate it 5/5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love Mozilla Firefox, and I wonder why everyone isn't using it! It is just so much more user-friendly than Internet Explorer, and I still have issues using Google Chrome. The only thing that I like about Chrome better is the fact that everything is saved to "The Cloud". Well, I use Google g-mail and I also create all of my documents on Google. They are then saved to "The Cloud", so, end of problem!
The only thing I would advise about Firefox is to check your settings. It is easy for someone to look up your passwords if you are not careful!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Scout November 01, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Mozilla Firefox my favorite web browser!

I love Mozilla Firefox, and I wonder why everyone isn't using it! It is just so much more user-friendly than Internet Explorer, and I still have issues using Google Chrome. The only thing that I like about Chrome better is the fact that everything is saved to "The Cloud". Well, I use Google g-mail and I also create all of my documents on Google. They are then saved to "The Cloud", so, end of problem!
The only thing I would advise about Firefox is to check your settings. It is easy for someone to look up your passwords if you are not careful!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love, love, love Firefox! I switched over from Internet Explorer about 6 years ago and I have not looked back since. I don’t have to worry about the intermittent crashes or slow load up I had with Internet Explorer. I can block malicious scripts without a hassle and I can also block all those annoying pop ups. It is also blazing fast, especially with the new upgrade.

I think that the setup is extremely user friendly and easy to navigate. It also looks good. When I open it it is clean unlike the messy look of Internet Explorer. I like to dabble with the Personas to add a personal touch to it to. With IE the best you can do is to change the color of the tabs.

Everyone should use Mozilla Firefox. It is top notch.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Casey James June 03, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Mozilla Firefox is cream of the crop!

I love, love, love Firefox! I switched over from Internet Explorer about 6 years ago and I have not looked back since. I don’t have to worry about the intermittent crashes or slow load up I had with Internet Explorer. I can block malicious scripts without a hassle and I can also block all those annoying pop ups. It is also blazing fast, especially with the new upgrade.

I think that the setup is extremely user friendly and easy to navigate. It also looks good. When I open it it is clean unlike the messy look of Internet Explorer. I like to dabble with the Personas to add a personal touch to it to. With IE the best you can do is to change the color of the tabs.

Everyone should use Mozilla Firefox. It is top notch.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This used to be my browser of choice, it has all the features you could ask for and then some. There's a dedicate non profit team behind it and it has tons of independent dev support, meaning that if you can think about an add on, somebody else has probably created it already.

The Good.
I have to admit that I still use Mozilla from time to time for a specific purpose, at which it excels over all other browsers. I'm talking about security, I would never trust any other browser with my online banking. To be fair it excels at almost everything else, there's just one thing that most users won't even notice, yet it makes it an unbearable experience for me.

The bad.
The title is a bit misleading, because it's not really a bad thing, it's more of a personal annoyance. Mozilla has a tab scrolling feature that can't be disabled in the newer versions, what this means is, if I hit more than 40 open tabs, it automatically hides them from me. While this will never be a problem for the average user, I sometimes have 60 tabs open at the same time, which makes it a pain to have to scroll around all the time.

In conclusion, it's a very good browser, unless you need a ton of tabs opened at the same time and don't like using the scroll function.
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
4.0
Reviewed by nandgate May 09, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Mozilla FF is almost perfect.

This used to be my browser of choice, it has all the features you could ask for and then some. There's a dedicate non profit team behind it and it has tons of independent dev support, meaning that if you can think about an add on, somebody else has probably created it already.

The Good.
I have to admit that I still use Mozilla from time to time for a specific purpose, at which it excels over all other browsers. I'm talking about security, I would never trust any other browser with my online banking. To be fair it excels at almost everything else, there's just one thing that most users won't even notice, yet it makes it an unbearable experience for me.

The bad.
The title is a bit misleading, because it's not really a bad thing, it's more of a personal annoyance. Mozilla has a tab scrolling feature that can't be disabled in the newer versions, what this means is, if I hit more than 40 open tabs, it automatically hides them from me. While this will never be a problem for the average user, I sometimes have 60 tabs open at the same time, which makes it a pain to have to scroll around all the time.

In conclusion, it's a very good browser, unless you need a ton of tabs opened at the same time and don't like using the scroll function.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I used to use IE before my brother told me years ago that compared to Mozilla it is marred by issues relating to stability and security. I quickly noticed a difference with Firefox. The setup is great, allowing for lots of convenient addons and tools. Tabbing is a great way to multitask, whether you're researching or just browsing several different sites at a time. The security is great, clearing history is convenient, and the fact that Firefox kills pop-ups (while giving you the option to open one if you so choose) is brilliant. There is also a Private Browsing feature, for which a new window will open. No history will be recorded or stores for private browsing sessions. This is good if you have a shared computer but don't want to clear all of your history. Other features, like storing and changing passwords, are well implemented and not marred by annoying quirks. All in all this is a great and safe way to browse the internet - I'll never go back.
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
4.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gears May 30, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Stability, Security, and Ease of Use

I used to use IE before my brother told me years ago that compared to Mozilla it is marred by issues relating to stability and security. I quickly noticed a difference with Firefox. The setup is great, allowing for lots of convenient addons and tools. Tabbing is a great way to multitask, whether you're researching or just browsing several different sites at a time. The security is great, clearing history is convenient, and the fact that Firefox kills pop-ups (while giving you the option to open one if you so choose) is brilliant. There is also a Private Browsing feature, for which a new window will open. No history will be recorded or stores for private browsing sessions. This is good if you have a shared computer but don't want to clear all of your history. Other features, like storing and changing passwords, are well implemented and not marred by annoying quirks. All in all this is a great and safe way to browse the internet - I'll never go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mozilla Firefox is a great program with a lot of fun and helpful features. I switched from Internet Explorer years ago when a friend of mine told me it was more secure and stable. I love that you can clear the cookies and history every time you exit the program.

I have had very few problems with crashing and when it does it is usually right before they upgrade to a newer version, once the update is complete it goes back to being it’s normal stable reliable self. I also love all the plug-ins and add-ons they offer including personas that allow you to personalize your internet browser window and script blocking which blocks all those annoying ads on the side of your screen.

That being said the new release Firefox 4 is a little troublesome. It is just as stable and secure but the add-ons are not being upgraded as quickly so some of the ones that worked in Firefox 3.6 do not work in 4. I am sure these will come along in time though.
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
4.0
Support 
 
5.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by DaisyMae May 21, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Firefox rocks!

Mozilla Firefox is a great program with a lot of fun and helpful features. I switched from Internet Explorer years ago when a friend of mine told me it was more secure and stable. I love that you can clear the cookies and history every time you exit the program.

I have had very few problems with crashing and when it does it is usually right before they upgrade to a newer version, once the update is complete it goes back to being it’s normal stable reliable self. I also love all the plug-ins and add-ons they offer including personas that allow you to personalize your internet browser window and script blocking which blocks all those annoying ads on the side of your screen.

That being said the new release Firefox 4 is a little troublesome. It is just as stable and secure but the add-ons are not being upgraded as quickly so some of the ones that worked in Firefox 3.6 do not work in 4. I am sure these will come along in time though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I had been an Internet Explorer user for many years. I was constantly coming across new problems so decided to switch to Mozilla Firefox. I am so glad I did. Since my switch, I no longer have frozen windows, random closing of my browser, numerous tracking cookies after every use. Overall it is just a better program than Internet Explorer ever was. If I knew what I was missing out on, I would have switched years ago.

The add-ons that Mozilla Firefox has to offer are just another bonus. I highly suggest looking into this feature if you are new to Firefox. You can get new fun themes, helpful tool bars and quick links to all of your favorite websites.

Firefox is extremely user friendly. I have taught my 5 year old how to navigate it. The only thing I could not give 5 stars is the Support. I have requested guidance with a few things in the past, the answers I receive from customer support always seem vague to me. Still, I give Firefox two thumbs up!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
4.0
Usability 
 
5.0
Reviewed by KelC23 May 20, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Mozilla is top notch!

I had been an Internet Explorer user for many years. I was constantly coming across new problems so decided to switch to Mozilla Firefox. I am so glad I did. Since my switch, I no longer have frozen windows, random closing of my browser, numerous tracking cookies after every use. Overall it is just a better program than Internet Explorer ever was. If I knew what I was missing out on, I would have switched years ago.

The add-ons that Mozilla Firefox has to offer are just another bonus. I highly suggest looking into this feature if you are new to Firefox. You can get new fun themes, helpful tool bars and quick links to all of your favorite websites.

Firefox is extremely user friendly. I have taught my 5 year old how to navigate it. The only thing I could not give 5 stars is the Support. I have requested guidance with a few things in the past, the answers I receive from customer support always seem vague to me. Still, I give Firefox two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mozilla firefox is fast, many addons and plugins and have good security. The downside with firefox is that it uses up much of your computers memory.

The firefox community is large and its easy to get support for it as well as discussing it at various forums.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Effectiveness 
 
5.0
Features 
 
5.0
Support 
 
4.0
Usability 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Jdelacroix February 26, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Mozilla Firefox is a top browser

Mozilla firefox is fast, many addons and plugins and have good security. The downside with firefox is that it uses up much of your computers memory.

The firefox community is large and its easy to get support for it as well as discussing it at various forums.

Was this review helpful to you? 
When I was first introduced to Firefox, it was amazing compared to Internet Explorer. My favorite feature has always been the tabbed browsing. Of course now most browsers will do that but back a few years ago, most did not. Firefox was also a lot faster than IE back then.

Unfortunately, Mozilla has been updating and each the past year seems way more buggy than the older versions. Most of them crash for no apparent reason which can be very frustrating. I'm actually thinking of switching browsers again if Mozilla doesn't come out with a more stable version soon.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Effectiveness 
 
4.0
Features 
 
4.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Brandi October 28, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Firefox not as good now as it used to be

When I was first introduced to Firefox, it was amazing compared to Internet Explorer. My favorite feature has always been the tabbed browsing. Of course now most browsers will do that but back a few years ago, most did not. Firefox was also a lot faster than IE back then.

Unfortunately, Mozilla has been updating and each the past year seems way more buggy than the older versions. Most of them crash for no apparent reason which can be very frustrating. I'm actually thinking of switching browsers again if Mozilla doesn't come out with a more stable version soon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I wish to be able to make copy, paste and delete using right click
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Effectiveness 
 
3.0
Features 
 
3.0
Support 
 
3.0
Usability 
 
4.0
Reviewed by carlos273 June 27, 2012
Last updated: August 26, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Firefox ( Right Menu )

I wish to be able to make copy, paste and delete using right click

Was this review helpful to you?