Help! You can support us by writing a personal review. Go ahead and register then pick a product you know about and write something interesting. Others will read it and perhabst become interested!

1and1

http://www.ereviewguide.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/260x200c/c7/6d/ff/_1and1_1311391979.jpg
November 08, 2010    
 
2.9 (3)

Publisher Details

BBB Listing

Hosting Details

Server Locations
  • Lenexa, Kansas, United States
  • Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Slough, United Kingdom
  • Chesterbrook, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Madrid, Spain
Bandwidth
Unlimited
Disc Space
Limited
Control Panels
  • Parallels Plesk Panel
  • 1&1 Control Panel

1and1 is a Web Hosting Service for Webmasters, Web Publishers, Ecommerce and maintained by 1&1 Internet, Inc.

1and1 Summary

1and1 is one of the world's biggest and fastest growing website hosts with a global community comprising of 9 million people. According to Netcraft's independent and statistically analysed study, 1&1 has over 2 million active websites and 10 million domains registered.

Problems with 1and1

The terms and conditions set by 1and1 are not all fair. For one, it offers a free three-month trial. Well, this sounds good. But the drawback is when you accept the terms, it also means you entered a contract that could not be broken easily. If you find the services unsatisfying during the three month-trial period, you can't actually break the contract. Although 1and1 allows customers to unsubscribe through emails and phone calls, you can't actually find easy means to unsubscribe because either no one's answering the phone or that the process is very complicated. The customer support overall is not especially good. In the customer support via phone, the customer service personnel are not always accommodating. The customer support via email are not excellent either. The connection is not always good with 1and1. You need to keep logging back on because of the poor connection.

1and1 is a great site in terms of the packages and plans it promises. The problem, however, is that 1and1 doesn't really stick to what it promises. It is claiming to have an excellent support team, but the customer support team is not really as excellent as 1and1 promised.

1and1 Review

1and1 offers hosting plans ranging from budget domain packages to feature-packed web hosting plans and packages. This web hosting company offers a very affordable service for as low as $3.99 per month. Another good thing is that this company has a money back guarantee. The money back guarantee program, however, is not as excellent as some people may think. The problem lies with the very difficult unsubscription process. The $50 voucher to Microsoft AdCenter, $25 voucher to Google AdWords, $25 voucher to Yahoo! Search Marketing, and $25 voucher to CitySearch that 1and1 offers are plus points.

Update 9th Sep 2011, we have reports of both satisfied and disappointed customers but we need more user reviews and real experiences to present a fair review of 1&1 Hosting.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Price 
 
4.3  (3)
Reliability 
 
3.3  (3)
Support 
 
1.7  (3)
Speed 
 
2.3  (3)
1and1 Hosting is an excellent service in a number of ways, especially if you wish to establish a business presence in the UK. The pricing is terrific, plus there are many different plans to suit exactly what you need. The different services and add-ons offer a lot of options, including ecommerce tools, domain registrations, shared and private hosting, and even servers. My only real complaint is that I found their customer service to be lacking, if you don't have a lot of tech know-how. I actually had one tech support guy tell me I shouldn't be online until I learn more.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Price 
 
5.0
Reliability 
 
5.0
Support 
 
3.0
Speed 
 
5.0
Reviewed by JadeM April 29, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Good if you don't need support

1and1 Hosting is an excellent service in a number of ways, especially if you wish to establish a business presence in the UK. The pricing is terrific, plus there are many different plans to suit exactly what you need. The different services and add-ons offer a lot of options, including ecommerce tools, domain registrations, shared and private hosting, and even servers. My only real complaint is that I found their customer service to be lacking, if you don't have a lot of tech know-how. I actually had one tech support guy tell me I shouldn't be online until I learn more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This isn't the worst hosting company on the planet, but they're not all that far removed from the bottom, in my opinion. I used them for six months about 3 years ago and had nothing but problems. The servers must be really old or they oversell their space, because trying to get anything done takes forever. My sites were constantly timing out for my visitors so I lost a lot of business as people gave up trying to reach my sites. When you call customer service, it becomes a joke. Techs are clearly inexperienced and many of them are rude as all get out. You'll also be lucky if you can get one that you can understand, because many obviously aren't versed in English.
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Price 
 
4.0
Reliability 
 
4.0
Support 
 
1.0
Speed 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Scott68 December 09, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

Lousy support and slow servers

This isn't the worst hosting company on the planet, but they're not all that far removed from the bottom, in my opinion. I used them for six months about 3 years ago and had nothing but problems. The servers must be really old or they oversell their space, because trying to get anything done takes forever. My sites were constantly timing out for my visitors so I lost a lot of business as people gave up trying to reach my sites. When you call customer service, it becomes a joke. Techs are clearly inexperienced and many of them are rude as all get out. You'll also be lucky if you can get one that you can understand, because many obviously aren't versed in English.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Do not ever use 1and1 for a domain registrar. They are horrible! The support is horriffic and billing has been a complete nightmare! I would not recommend 1and1 to my worst enemy. The hook you in with cheap domain names. The control panel, when working, is so slow if you have more than ten domains plan on spending two days just updating the DNS... If you can get that to work too. I can not tell you how many thousands of dollars and tons of hours have been wasted on this company.

Don't believe me? Google "1and1 reviews" or "1and1 sucks" or "1and1 ripoff". Yes, there are thousands of people who experienced the same problems as I have. IT IS A NIGHTMARE. I have been building websites for 15 years and trading domains for about 10. Trust me, 1and1 is the absolute worst company you could ever get tangled up with.

If you have have any questions about my experience with 1and1 feel free to shoot me a message.



Overall rating 
 
1.8
Price 
 
4.0
Reliability 
 
1.0
Support 
 
1.0
Speed 
 
1.0
Reviewed by joseph-mas May 02, 2013
Last updated: May 02, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

1and1 Nightmare. Worst company ever!

Do not ever use 1and1 for a domain registrar. They are horrible! The support is horriffic and billing has been a complete nightmare! I would not recommend 1and1 to my worst enemy. The hook you in with cheap domain names. The control panel, when working, is so slow if you have more than ten domains plan on spending two days just updating the DNS... If you can get that to work too. I can not tell you how many thousands of dollars and tons of hours have been wasted on this company.

Don't believe me? Google "1and1 reviews" or "1and1 sucks" or "1and1 ripoff". Yes, there are thousands of people who experienced the same problems as I have. IT IS A NIGHTMARE. I have been building websites for 15 years and trading domains for about 10. Trust me, 1and1 is the absolute worst company you could ever get tangled up with.

If you have have any questions about my experience with 1and1 feel free to shoot me a message.



Was this review helpful to you?